Disarmament and International Security Committee


Committee abstract:

The Disarmament and International Security Committee (DISEC), also known as the First Committee, is one of the six main committees of the United Nations General Assembly. It addresses disarmament and international security matters in the light of the general principles of cooperation to the maintenance of international peace and security, in order to prevent the disruption of armed conflict and the heightening of tensions in the international system. Since the past decade, the committee has been focusing on issues of nuclear non-proliferation, small arms illicit traffic and regional militarization. As a subsidiary organ of the General Assembly, the DISEC is entitled to present its recommendations over the issues under its consideration to a plenary meeting of the Assembly, usually in the form of draft resolutions and decisions. Through this mechanism, the First Committee has been the primary origin of legal initiatives that led to important international treaties and conventions, such as the Treaty of Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons of 1968 and the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty of 1996. Each Member State of the United Nations is represented by one delegate in this committee and decisions on draft resolutions and recommendations are approved on a two-thirds majority basis, turning the DISEC into a broad and inclusive platform for the debate of pertinent issues concerning the maintenance of international peace and security.

Chair: Muhammad Qasim Hayat

Co-chair: emilio karakey